My Lovely Little Things

Rummaging around in a box of old books in my shed, I discovered a recent edition of Gray’s Anatomy, the classic anatomy textbook first published in 1858 by Henry Gray. Creatively tackling the issues of skill-based learning, the text book serves as an incredible visual guide for medical students, through the use of highly detailed, true visual aids. Speaking as someone with a fairly non-existant medical background (i.e.. I can tie a sling and thats about it), I found myself studying the illustrations of the textbook so avidly that I absorbed it teachings. The images not only satisfy my curiosity of life and what forms it through their intricate realism, but the quality and beauty of each drawing turn, what some might find gruesome, into works of art. They demonstrate perfectly the enduring relationship between art and learning. None of the illustrations would look out of place on the…

View original post 17 more words

Leave a Reply

